2015 ROWITA Awards Held


ROWITA AWARD winners. photo: 2016

With a packed house, Tommy Bledsoe, St Johns County Culture Council, was the Master of Ceremonies and Louise Freshman Brown, professor of Art at the University of North Florida was the keynote speaker. Brown shared stories of her travels around the world and her love of art. The audience was treated to a personalized show of various pieces in her portfolio.

This years award winners include: Elyse Brady, Manila Clough, Caren Goldman, Jan Tomlinson Master, JoAnn Nance, Rosamond Parrish and Shirley Williams-Collins.


Commissioner Snodgrass introduces Elyse Brady of the St Augustine Art Association. photo: 2016

Our own beach city commissioner, Gary Snodgrass was on hand to introduce this years winner, Elyse Brady. Brady is the executive director of the St Augustine Art Association. Along with being involved in the arts throughout her life, Brady was instrumental in developing the TOUCH Braille Trail around St Augustine. Brady read a letter about the importance of creativity by Pope John Paul.

Other artistic projects included St Augustine’s Compassionate Obelisk Art, a 450th Project. Caren Goldman was responsible for this unique project. It is an international public art exhibition interpreting freedom, democracy, human rights and compassion.
Rosamond Parrish, who is a founding member of the Jacksonville Watercolor Society, created The Lincolnville Book. Filled with history and unique watercolor illustrations, this book takes the reader throughout the neighborhood of Lincolonville.

Joann Nance was recognized for her many years as a drama teacher at Murry Middle, School of the Arts. This week, Nance, along with over 150 students will present “The Lion King Jr” at the St Augustine Amphitheatre.  When asked about her medium of choice Nance responded, “12 year olds.”

The evening ended with a reception for all artists and art lovers in attendance.